Estimating your Rating of Perceived Exertion

Another way to estimate how hard you are working is to use the Borg scale, also known as “Rating of Perceived Exertion”. The scale relies on your perception of how hard you are working. It runs from 6 to 20, with 6 equal to “minimum effort” and 20 equal to “maximum effort”. For endurance activities, gradually work your way up to Level 13.

Rating of Perceived Exertion
6, 7, 8    Extremely Light   
9, 10 Very Light
11, 12 Fairly Light
13, 14 Somewhat Hard
15, 16 Hard
17, 18 Very Hard
19 Extremely Hard

Return to Improvement Menu

Take Our Survey


We need your help! Periodically we conduct a survey of our visitors and use the results to help guide our planning process for future programming. We really want to know what you think, and your answers will help us improve the Shape Up America! organization. Please take a few minutes to share your questions, thoughts and ideas. Your responses will be kept strictly confidential.

Btn Click Here

Donate to SUA


Please consider a donation to Shape Up America! Your tax-deductible contribution helps us develop new initiatives to address the problem of obesity in America.

Btn Click Here